The Dodd Trophy, college football’s most coveted coaching award, celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

The coaches on the preseason watch list were selected based on their success on and off the field.

Paul Chryst Wisconsin Big Ten
Mark Dantonio Michigan State Big Ten
Larry Fedora UNC ACC
Kirk Ferentz Iowa Big Ten
Jimbo Fisher FSU ACC
Mike Gundy Oklahoma State Big 12
Jim Harbaugh Michigan Big Ten
Mark Helfrich Oregon Pac-12
Clay Helton USC Pac-12
Tom Herman Houston American
Brian Kelly Notre Dame Independent
Jim McElwain Florida SEC
Urban Meyer Ohio State Big Ten
Les Miles LSU SEC
Jim Mora UCLA Pac-12
Gary Patterson TCU Big 12
Chris Petersen Washington Pac-12
Nick Saban Alabama SEC
David Shaw Stanford Pac-12
Kirby Smart Georgia SEC
Bob Stoops Oklahoma Big 12
Kevin Sumlin Texas A&M SEC
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC
Kyle Whittingham Utah Pac-12